Home > ParetoLogic Blogs > Malware Diaries > Site 'Under construction' hosts malware
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2009, 12:09 AM
Michael Michael is offline
Administrator
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 313
Default Site 'Under construction' hosts malware

Our Honeypots caught the following site: dataprovedor.com.

Is this site really under construction? It looks like some kind of web portal.

provedor

Regardless, let's get to the subject that got us here in the first place: The malware.

In a sub directory called images you can see two files, one is an exe, the other a php which redirects to the exe.

I found it rather smart that the file name for the exe is in the form of DSCXXXXX. For those who own a Sony camera (or possibly other Sony products) this is the default name to which images are saved to.

So, one bonus point for the social engineering trick.

files

The time stamp also indicates that those files have been uploaded recently, to what I think is a hacked server.

The online file checker Jotti reveals that the file may be part of the Banload Trojans family, but is poorly detected at the time of writing:

jotti

Jerome Segura

Malware ID: 2b65626b2442521307d68a53c0b5e6aa.zip
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Terms of Use