Home > ParetoLogic Blogs > Malware Diaries > Beware of Twitter's Followers frenzy
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-21-2009, 09:23 PM
Michael Michael is offline
Administrator
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 313
Default Beware of Twitter's Followers frenzy

There are several sites enticing Twitter users to give them their username and password (yes password) in order to get more followers.

This site thousandfollowers.com looks a tad suspicious:

you need to give your full credentials and the "I agree with the Terms of Service" is pre-checked!

twit

Watch what happens:

twit2

twit3

Yes, looks like spam doesn't it? Posting messages without my consent!

Better change my password!

The site's IP is located in the Netherlands and the Whois rather obscure:

Domain name: thousandfollowers.com



Registrant Contact:
WhoisGuard
WhoisGuard Protected ()


Wonder why? Do You? ;-)

The site also asks you to 'buy' VIP which it states will get you "followed when users login to our site".

Let me explain the scam in clear text:

I really want new followers badly and give out my personal information like thousands of other naive people. If I buy the VIP pass all those thousands of naive people will follow me. Guess how? Because their account is owned!

vip

How many people fall for the scam? LOTS!!!

scam

Jerome Segura
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Terms of Use